Unicorn startup companies such as Lyft and Uber are consistently recruiting new rideshare drivers, although they are similar, here are a few of Lyft’s driver requirements.
To drive for Lyft, you must be at least 21 years old. If you live in New York, however, you can become a Lyft driver as long as you’re 18 years old.
In certain states, such as California, Hawaii, Illinois and more, drivers are required to have at least 1 year of driving history.
When applying to become a Lyft Driver, it is important to remember that certain safety requirements must be met prior to approval. An application may be disqualified if the potential driver’s record reveals:
More than three moving violations in the past three years
A single major moving violation in the past three years (such as driving on a suspended license or reckless driving);
A DUI or other drug-related driving violation in the past seven years, or longer in some jurisdictions;
Lyft reserves the right to disqualify a driver at any time, in compliance with applicable law, should their driving record reveal any disqualifying information or for any other safety-related reason.
One of the most critical components to consider when applying to drive with Lyft is the background check process. As a part of the application process, each potential driver must provide a valid social security number and other identifying information so that Lyft may perform a background check. This help to ensure the safety of passengers.
The results of the background check are reviewed by Lyft and assessed against applicable regulations and Lyft’s internal safety criteria. You may be ineligible to drive on the Lyft platform if, at the time of your application, your background check results reveal any violation that does not align with Lyft’s requirements.
State and local requirements
In certain markets, drivers must meet additional city or state requirements.
Be sure to check your email throughout the application process for instructions specific to your region.
Driver license, license plates, and insurance
Current and valid driver’s license
Valid plates with current registration (commercial plates are also acceptable)
Current valid insurance with your name on the policy
Some cities and states require drivers to have in-state documents.
If you’re a new driver, go to Lyft’s Driver application requirements for the full list. If you’re already approved, see State & City Driver Information for required documents.
Your region may not require your name to be printed on your insurance policy. If your insurance policy doesn’t have your name on it, upload your documents and Lyft will let you know if you need to acquire a “declarations page” from your insurance company with your name.
The Lyft Driver app requires a cellular connection, so your device must be supported by Lyft to drive. At this time, Lyft does not support wifi only devices (i.e., iPads).
See Phone software recommendations and settings to see which operating systems Lyft supports. While earlier versions of operating systems may work, they may not provide the best experience and new app features.
If you meet the requirements and are ready to begin earning extra income as a Lyft Driver. With more Lyft riders joining all the time, drivers are more important than ever. Become one today to get a $1000 after your first 125 rides. Limited time only. Terms apply.